Day Care (Because You Don’t)

I follow the news but I can’t possibly see everything; on the other hand, I don’t miss all that much either. I think I’m still in shock over the Mexican Day Care Fire. Some 44 children died in the fire of June 5 in Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico. The death toll continues to rise as of this writing.

I drove city school buses some years ago, the largest of which carried up to 72 children. In my own elementary school days the classes were often quite large, sometimes having as many as 45 pupils per class. Even with my many memories of those noisy throngs, I simply cannot imagine the magnitude of horror in seeing that many dead children, all in one place; and all at the same time.

As surely as I love my own child, the people have my sympathy. My sympathy, however is tinged with anger. (I have always found children easier to love and forgive than adults.) This is hardly the first Day Care tragedy to occur. However large, however ghastly, it is, in fact, just one of a long string of incidents wherein young children have lost their lives while being kept in Day Care.

I say I am angry, but my anger is not just about this single incident; it is about all of them.

As I understand human nature, there will surely be others.

So, this is what I want you people to do the next time a child dies while kept in Day Care:

Dress the child’s body in a satin and lace christening dress of the finest handiwork.

Place the child’s body in a child’s silver or gilt handled bronze coffin of the costliest sort.

Around midnight, place the coffin on Gloria Steinem’s doorstep.

Ring the doorbell vigorously several times and then run like hell.

June 5, 2009                                                       The Twentieth Man

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in For Feminists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

