The Rhinoceros

For a time I worked at the Milwaukee County Zoo and this afforded me ample opportunity to observe the many exotic creatures kept there. I found the rhinoceros to be a particularly ugly creature. I learned the rhinoceros was an endangered species. Even then I thought to myself, that if some day I would open a newspaper and read that the last rhinoceros had perished (tough guy that I am), I would surely weep. I would weep, not for this apparently repugnant and otherwise useless creature, but I would weep for the failure of humanity. I would weep especially for those children yet unborn who would thus be denied the opportunity to gaze with their very own eyes upon such an ungainly and wondrous beast.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

