I Apologize If I Haven’t Already Offended You

I apologize if I haven’t already offended you. If I haven’t offended you it is only because I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Stick with me long enough and I will offend you. I guarantee it.

They say “The Truth Hurts.” When I was in Việt Nam I came to the realization that I was going to die. Not there perhaps, not even today perhaps, but eventually and, inescapably, I was going to die. It is the fate of Man. It is the fate of Mankind. It is the fate of all animals. It is the fate of all living things. To die.

I was there, in Việt Nam, largely because I was lied to. I realized that practically everyone around me was lying. They lied about this – they lied about that – they lied about everything else. They even lied about God. At the time, I wasn’t even sure if there was a god. And those in denial lie to themselves.

I made an oath of sorts; a Vitam Impendere Vero (a life dedication if you will.) Concerning God I said to myself: “God or no God, I shall know the Truth.” Concerning lying, I considered it a waste of ones life. I considered (and still do) that lying is an act of cowardice. I consider lying to be slithering through life as opposed to walking upright. I determined that I would make my journey through this, my one and only life, holding on to and speaking only the truth, where ever it may lead, and letting the chips fall where they may. Lying just gets in the way of those of us who seek the truth or seek to solve a problem. I knew even then that the truth was a two-edged sword: wounding the wielder in equal measure. I have already paid a heavy price for the truth. I also expect to pay more. But nothing of lasting worth has ever been built on a foundation of lies.

The Truth Hurts. It smarts, it stings, it burns, it’s gonna leave a mark; and yes, you’re going to feel it in the morning. But at least you know where you stand, who you are, and where you are going.

Once again: I apologize if I haven’t already offended you. If I haven’t offended you it is only because I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 66
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

