The Hiatus

Among other things, my stint in the army was also a three-year hiatus from television.

Three years is a very long time.

A schoolmate rushed into marriage and left a young widow.

(That’s why I broke up with a girl I’d been dating before being drafted and sent off to war.)

Years later, back among the civilians, I sometimes found it quite difficult to follow even casual conversations. Remarks made by friends and family were often puzzling to such an extent that I was sometimes compelled to ask for clarification. Nearly everything they said was punctuated with cryptic in-jokes, punch-lines, catch-phrases and mock impressions of the latest leading characters and stars from the then-popular television programs – programming I’d never been subjected to. (And yes, it is programming in the Pavlovian sense.) In terms of Pop Culture, I’d fallen behind.

Most people’s lives are a hum-drum routine. You get up in the morning, get ready for work – you commute to your job – your job is familiar and boring. When at last you get home, you can hardly wait to turn on the TV. Five days-a-week at least, the talk around the water-cooler is not about what you had for breakfast that morning – that would be boring – but rather, it’s all about what you saw on the TV the previous night. The only thing that breaks up the hum-drum routine of your life is what’s on television. So you parrot the hot topic du jour. You repeat what you’ve heard – and mostly what you’ve heard are propagandist’s slogans.

It is ghastly to me to hear people I care about mindlessly parroting mindless slogans. Slogans like the oxymoronic ‘sexual equality’.

As I’ve said elsewhere, a woman once paid me a rather odd but very flattering compliment. She said talking with me was always interesting because no matter what subject we were conversing about I would always add something to the deliberations that she had never considered or even thought about.

She said: “You have an all-encompassing mind.”

I responded:

“Only God has an all-encompassing mind. I just don’t watch television.”

While taking a hiatus from the mass media and television especially is recommended, it is also a part of my personal hell that I find myself so out of sync with the rest of humanity that it seems I am, at times, hated by one and all. So be it. Do your own thinking.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 66
This entry was posted in For Feminists, Human Sacrifice, Mass Media, Observations, Personal History, Politics, Veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

