The Evil Eye

Have you ever gotten the feeling you were being watched? I asked my son this question just the other day and he answered “yes” without the least hesitation. I’d been standing on the porch in the pre-dawn darkness when the feeling I was being watched came over me. I looked all around and then down where I spotted an opossum, only a shade lighter in contrast against the dark lawn, standing perfectly still, just standing there, looking up at me.

Perhaps, like me, you were taught as a child that it was impolite or even rude to stare at someone. The opossum brought to mind something we used to do in elementary school. That was back in the days of ordered desks, row upon row, sometimes as many as 45 students in five rows of nine. (Boomerville) Sitting at your chosen desk (if you were allowed to choose) (and as far from the teacher as possible) at the rear of the classroom, we’d target a classmate sitting somewhere in front of us and stare at the back of their heads.

Call it what you will, “The Evil Eye” or “Extra Sensory Perception” (ESP), the victim would sense they were being stared at (right through the back of their skull?) and turn around and glance directly at the perpetrator. This alone would make for an interesting psychological experiment.

I believe in precognition or prescience as I’ve experienced it my self in a very conscious way; but as for “The Evil Eye” – it has its limitations because “if looks could kill” as they say, I’d surely be dead by now.

Have you ever gotten the feeling you were being watched?

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in Humor, Observations, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

