The Fool’s Cap

Fool's Cap

So there I was, once again dining at the local Culver’s Restaurant with a young couple seated behind me in the next booth. They had a couple of cute little kids with them; a boy and a girl.

I’d just polished off my dessert and stood to go; this family leaving at the same time. The father noticed me donning my Fool’s Cap (1st Aviation Brigade — Vietnam) and brought his little boy (who looked to be about two-and-a-half) over to me and instructed him:

“See this man? Shake his hand and say ‘Thank you for your service.’

The little boy raised his hand shyly and said in a very small voice:

“Thank you for my service.”

Dad immediately recognized and attempted to correct the boy’s verbal faux pas but I just laughed and shook the little boy’s limp-and -still-damp-and-chilly-from-washing-it-in-the-restroom hand and smiled at him and said “My pleasure.”

1st Aviation Brigade Baseball Cap bifocals

About The Twentieth Man

Age 66
This entry was posted in Humor, Personal History, Short Stories, Veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

