The Orgy Room

Went to the VA for my biannual eye exam and a new pair of glasses. I skipped breakfast and my morning coffee so I wouldn’t be caught in an untimely crisis. About 40 minutes past my appointment I got the urge to visit the head. I tried the handle on the new orgy room (the VA had changed the signage to multi-sexual even though they used to be MEN’S and WOMEN’S rooms cheek by jowl). The door swung open with some dame sitting on the throne with her laundry ’round her ankles. This sort of shit wouldn’t happen if they’d left well enough alone. (There was a Work Order posted on the door for the closer, seems the door tended to slam suddenly). When the woman came out she smiled weakly at me so I asked her if the lock was working and she replied “I pushed the button!”. She offered to test the door latch after I entered and locked it. Not sure she did, so I did from the inside. After doing my duty and washing my hands I was confronted with a vending machine hanging on the wall that despensed sanitary napkins and tampons. Oh , ick! My first thoughts were: “Not my fault” “Not my problem”.

Intending to grab breakfast at the VA I stepped outside for a butt and started talking to a mournful looking vet sitting in a wheelchair. My mistake. He was highly opinionated about the VA cafeteria food. Said it was crap and ya gotta keep an eye on the servers, viz: “You ask for toast and they give you a warm piece of bread”, etc. In his not so humble opinion, the only good thing was the salad bar, “A real bargain” according to him; “You don’t pay for the salad dressing.”

Decided to go to IHOP instead. Got an earful from a loud-talking female Iraq War veteran speaking to what appeared to be her AA mentor across the aisle. All through my over-priced breakfast she talked about her drinking, drugs, attempted suicide, war experiences, problems with the VA, a confrontation with CNN reporters in Iraq (She was a PFC Medic). For over half an hour, throughout my meal she went on and on (seems they weren’t there to eat) about botched amputations and losing young men they could have saved and should have saved and casting blame about it; she had all the PTSD cliches memorized. I left a big tip.

None of this changed my mind about anything: War is still Stupid; having Women in the Military is still Stupid; Multi-sex Toilets are Stupid as well. Perhaps, at my age, it’s a little too late, but if I didn’t have a sense of humor I’d go stark raving mad. Is that it then? Is that what life is? A Comedy of Errors where only some get killed and no happy ending? The whole of humanity, just a bunch of bumbling, blathering, blunderers?

About The Twentieth Man

Age 66
This entry was posted in Human Sacrifice, Observations, PTSD, Suicide, Suicide, Veterans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

