Where’s that damned remote?

So right about now you’re asking yourself: “Where’s that damned remote?”

There’s little satisfaction in my life; I rarely if ever get what I want. But when I complete a simple task – solve a problem, satisfaction is there; sparse mind you, but it’s there.

We got us a new garage door opener equipped with two remotes. Obviously one goes with the car; but what to do with the other? The old one was smaller and fit on a shelf, actually the ledge of the wainscotting by the kitchen door. This new one is bigger and would easily fall off, so the problem was, where to keep it? If I just left it out on a table or shelf or tucked it into a cabinet it’s a certainty it would get quickly lost in the clutter.

I decided to hang it in the back shed. I went to the hardware store to come up with an idea. I wanted it to be hang-in-place but also removable as per the clip designed to accommodate a car’s sun visor. I looked at some fancy cabinet handles but the were all bolt-through for drawers and doors. I brought home a chest handle. It’s a bit oversized for my purposes but I guess it will have to do.

I knew from experience the ideal place to put it – right next to the shed’s back window. From there I can observe the raising and lowering of the overhead door out in the garage (through a second garage window); even in the most inclement weather.

So the next time you find yourself asking: “Where’s that damned remote?”

It’s hanging in the shed, to the right of the back window.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in Credit Cards, Expository Writing, Personal History, Short Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

