The Fourth of July – 2017

These are photographs of the last two American flags in the neighborhood. It just so happens I raised them both. I raised ours just before dawn out of a sense of nostalgia and respect for my brother’s political naïveté and old habits. He woke up a few hours later and immediately inquired if I had done so. My elderly neighbor called a bit later and asked me to assemble and mount her flag as her son was unable to do so. Most of my neighbors are now Hispanic and, if they’d cared enough to raise any flag at all it would probably be a Mexican or Puerto Rican one. They do so love their fireworks however. This is probably the last time I’ll bother to display the flag.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in Economics, Government, Observations, Personal History, Plain English, Politics, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

