What’s the Buzz?

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

“What’s the Buzz?”Jesus Christ Superstar

There’s nothing unusual about the daily dust-ups and squabbles among the local sparrows fighting and chasing each other over dominance, mates, nesting scraps and morsels of food, etc. so the only reason I’m writing about this is because it seemed so unusual an occurrence and surely, even at my age, it’s a first time for me.

Four sparrows zoomed past only a few feet from me, making a couple of passes before changing course and moving on. The lead sparrow, the one the others were chasing had a live cicada in its beak, and they wanted to steal it or at least have a piece of it. I knew it was still alive because it was buzzing furiously. It was the buzzing of the cicada that caught my attention and immediately brought to mind a song from Jesus Christ Superstar. I was not alone in this because an even larger flock of sparrows quickly got caught up in the excitement as well.

What’s the buzz
Tell me what’s a-happening

A motorized sparrow; Huh.

Jesus Christ Superstar is a 1970 rock opera with music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Tim Rice.

About The Twentieth Man

Age 67
This entry was posted in Expository Writing, Noise, Observations, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

