Needs and Desires

Under trying circumstances, I attempted to teach my son things I thought were most valuable about life.

I tried to teach him the difference between needs and desires. Granted, he’s handicapped and on welfare, and his basic needs are met. But, he would toss what wisdom I gave him in childhood back to me.

Years ago, I asked him: “Do you need anything?” “Do you need any money?”

His response was: “I have enough money.”

Far too many parents delegate their responsibilities to strangers and teach their children nothing themselves; much less, teach them the difference between needs and desires.

Think back now; in the course of your entire life, have you ever heard, either a man or a woman, ever say such a thing?

“I have enough money.”

About The Twentieth Man

Age 73
This entry was posted in Capitalism, Expository Writing, Love, Personal History, Plain English and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.